Senator Janet Nguyen Congratulates Twelve Local "California Gold Ribbon Schools"

Friday, May 29, 2015

As an advocate for quality education, Senator Janet Nguyen is proud to announce that the California Department of Education has designated twelve public schools in the 34th State Senate District as “Gold Ribbon Schools.”

“I am delighted that twelve of California’s best public schools are located in 34th Senate District,” said Senator Nguyen. “This award is a reflection of the faculty and teachers' commitment and dedication to providing our students with the best quality of instruction possible.”

The state created the California Gold Ribbon Schools Award to honor schools in place of the California Distinguished Schools Program, which is currently on hiatus while the state creates new assessment and accountability systems. The California Gold Ribbon Schools Award seeks to recognize California schools that have made gains in implementing the academic content and performance standards adopted by the State Board of Education. The award was given to only 373 schools out of the more than 2,600 middle and high schools in the state.

The 12 schools in the 34th Senate District that received this prestigious honor are:

South Jr. High School (Anaheim)
Harry Fulton M.S. (Fountain Valley)
Masuda M.S. (Fountain Valley)
Talbert M.S. (Fountain Valley)
Bolsa Grande H.S. (Garden Grove)
Walton Intermediate (Garden Grove)
La Quinta H.S. (Garden Grove)
Pacifica High School (Garden Grove)
Fitz Intermediate (Garden Grove)
Los Alamitos H.S. (Los Alamitos)
McAuliffe M.S. (Los Alamitos)
Oak Middle School (Los Alamitos)

Schools applied for the award based on a model program their school has adopted that includes standards-based activities, projects, strategies, and practices that can be replicated by other local educational agencies. The award only recognized middle and high schools this year and will recognize elementary schools in 2016.

To find more information about the Gold Ribbon Schools Award, click here.